Delhi MCD

Population of 11,007,835 segregated into three zones

MCD came into existence on 7 April 1958 under an Act of Parliament. Prior to that DMC(Delhi Municipal Committee) was the principal civic body of Delhi. Guru Radha Kishan served for the longest consecutive period as a councillor of the MCD(initially Delhi Municipal Committee). Since then, the Municipal Body has always been alive in its constitution and functioning to the growing needs of citizens. The 1993 amendment of the Act brought about fundamental changes in composition, functions, governance and administration of the corporation.


On 13 January 2012, the Municipal Corporation of Delhi was ‘trifurcated’, i.e. split into three smaller municipal corporations. The new North Delhi Municipal Corporation and South Delhi Municipal Corporation each contain 104 municipal wards, while the smaller East Delhi Municipal Corporation contains 64 wards.



Delhi MCD area was divided into 12 zones spread across three smaller municipal corporations:

North Delhi Municipal Corporation

Karol Bagh
Sadar Paharganj
Civil Lines

South Delhi Municipal Corporation

Central Delhi
South Delhi
West Delhi

East Delhi Municipal Corporation

Shahdara South
Shahdara North

As of 2011 India census, Delhi Municipal Corporation (U) had a population of 11,007,835.
Males constitute 55% of the population and
Females constitute 45%.


Average literacy rate of 87.6%, higher than the national average of 74.0%:
Male literacy is 91.44% and,
Female literacy is 83.20%.
Population under 16 years is 13%.